Skip to main content

Books, Books, Books

Come to the Book Talk Café

NEXT MEETING:

Wednesday, May 1st @ Lunch

Bring a book you've read, bring your lunch, and be ready to talk!

tea and book

Join the BOOK TALK CAFÉ Classroom

Announcements and information will be posted in the Google Classroom.

Join Code: 2gc089l

Want MORE books we recommend?

Click here!

LAtest Arrivals

WHICH BOOK WILL WILL THE NEWBERY AWARD THIS YEAR?

May's selection is : 

moon

Eleven-year-old Celi Rivera is mortified by the looming fact that her first period is coming. Her mother, however, is eager to throw her a "moon ceremony" upon its arrival to reclaim and honor their ancestral Mexica traditions and to empower her as she enters young womanhood. Meanwhile, Celi's best friend Magda is also going through a change, asking Celi to use he/his pronouns and call him Marco as he embraces his transition into a xochihuah, "people who danced between/or to other energies/than what they were assigned at birth." But when Celi's new crush Iván repeatedly makes fun of Marco for his appearance, Celi makes a few rash decisions. Celi's and Marco's parents come through with wisdom, shedding light and acceptance on each tween's journey...This novel contains rich descriptions of Mexica rituals and provides a unique perspective on gender fluidity and the bonds of unbreakable friendship. 
                                   Excerpt from School Library Journal, December 2018

Stop by the LC or SFPL/West Portal to borrow a copy!

***

Join our Mock Newbery Group to vote on your choice!  

Read a new book each month and join Ms. Angela from SFPL’s West Portal branch in a lunchtime conversation.  

Next meeting: Wednesday, May 15th

OTHER BOOKS WE'VE READ in the newbery group

APRIL
whispers
January
Hello Universe
March
Dragon Pearl
February
Coyote

GRAPHIC NOVELS

We joined a graphic novel book of the month service for 2019!

Check out this month's selection.

breakaways

Middle school, friendship, and soccer, what's not to love? As Sarah Stone (SFPL) in her School Library Journal review, The Breakaways is "a down-to-earth friendship story for readers of Svetlana Chmakova's Awkward, Jennifer L. Holm's Sunny Side Up, and Raina Telgemeier's Drama.

 Recommendation of the month:

Language of spells

If you like the slice of life/fantasy books, this is the book for you.  Dragons called to Vienna have gone missing. Only a few dragons remain, all having the same golden eyes.  Grisha, a dragon, is now on a quest to find these missing dragons. With the help of Maggie, a human, the pair go on an adventure.  I initially thought this book was boring and even took a break from it. When I picked it in hopes of quickly finishing it, I was hooked.  I’m still shedding non existent tears from the ending. The tears are non existent because they only exist in my thoughts. I’m not heartless. I just don’t want my mom to think I’m a weirdo for crying over a book.

 

Excerpted from an 8th Grader’s recommendation, Sept. 2018